Integration is the Name of the Game

 

A small brush for dental care, as HEKUMA's exhibit this year, combines fast take-out, quality inspection and packaging. It shows the flexibility of the modular concept HEKUflex , which was introduced just last year.

 

This year as well, HEKUMA is presenting itself with an exhibit in collaboration with the injection molding machine manufacturer ENGEL and the precision mold maker HACK. "scrub!", the interdental brush developed by pheneo from Bremen, Germany, is produced in an 8-cavity mold on an ENGEL e-motion 170/110.

The automation tasks include taking out the 8 brushes, a sampling inspection of each 50th shot and the packaging of two shots each in a pouch with an eurohole. The interdental brush is made completely of plastic. Even its fine bristles are injection molded. This makes a metal insert unnecessary and simplifies the production process significantly.

 

The modular series HEKUflex celebrated its premier last year, first at the NPE in Florida in the United States and then at the FAKUMA in Friedrichshafen, Germany. Where at those shows, the take-out, camera inspection and packaging module for pipette tips were shown, now the focus is on showing how the interdental brushes are taken out, inspected and packaged. Emphasized here is the flexibility of the modules. Because of the modular construction, it only took 50 days to engineer the system.

 

HEKUMA's modular concept HEKUflex shows its flexibility at this year's K in Dusseldorf

Brush take out occurs at a typical speed of less than one second in the take out module itself. This requires highest precision and care, because neither the product nor the mold allow very much space. The gripping surface, i.e. the surface of the product that the grippers can touch, is merely 10x10 millimeters in size. Understandably so, since the brush size is barely 40 x 10 x 3 millimeters. The brushes are held in the grippers using vacuum suction to ensure that there is no damage to the product. After take out, the gripper moves to a shuttle plate, where it sets down all of the parts in holes designed for the purpose. Every 50th shot is driven to the left to a camera module. Every other shot goes to packaging directly.

 

This year's exhibit focuses mainly on integration

Third-party systems are integrated in two of the three modules. The left module, a camera module, shows a 360 degree camera inspection in collaboration with STÄUBLI. The STÄUBLI TX40 holds the product in front of the camera and turns it. A total of five pictures are taken and analyzed. The camera assumes the function of product monitoring. If the interdental brush deviates from the standard, an alarm is signaled. The design and the software for the camera system were created by HEKUMA's own camera development team. In addition to the length and the straightness of the center bar, another challenge is the ability to detect and measure the fine bristles. The inspection time for each part takes 30 seconds.

During the sample inspection, parts will still be taken out, after which they are dropped into a hopper. Two shots are collected on a conveyor belt and packaged in a pouch. The PACKMAT “280VD Sonder” is responsible for the packaging. Once the pouches have been filled, they are welded, a eurohole is punched and then they are dropped onto a conveyor within the automation process. The conveyor moves the pouches into a box. The space-saving position of the good-parts box allows the pouches to be taken out manually during ongoing operation without any danger or bringing production to a standstill.

Download press release as PDF here.

Im Zeichen der Integration

 

Eine kleine Bürste zur Zahnpflege vereint im diesjährigen Exponat der HEKUMA eine schnelle Entnahme, Qualitätsprüfung und Verpackung. Dabei zeigt sich die Flexibilität der modularen Bauweise HEKUflex, die erst letztes Jahr ihre Premiere feierte.

 

Auch in diesem Jahr präsentiert sich HEKUMA mit einem Exponat zusammen mit dem Spritzgießmaschinenhersteller ENGEL und dem Präzisionsformbauer HACK. Die Interdentalbürste „scrub!“, entwickelt von pheneo aus Bremen, wird in einem 8 Kavitäten-Werkzeug auf einer ENGEL e-motion 170/110 gefertigt.

Die Aufgaben der Automatisierung beinhalten hierbei die Entnahme der 8 Bürsten, die Stichproben-Prüfung eines jeden fünfzigsten Schusses und die Verpackung von je 2 Schuss in einem Beutel mit Euroloch. Die Interdental-Bürste wird komplett aus Kunststoff hergestellt, sogar die feinen Borsten werden gespritzt. Ein Metalleinsatz wird dadurch überflüssig und der Fertigungsprozess erheblich vereinfacht.

Die modulare Baureihe HEKUflex feierte letztes Jahr ihre Premiere zuerst auf der NPE im amerikanischen Florida und anschließend auf der FAKUMA in Friedrichshafen. Zeigte man dort bereits Entnahme-, Kameraprüf- und Verpackungsmodul für Pipettenspitzen, werden nun Interdental-Bürsten entnommen, geprüft und verpackt. Dabei zeigt sich die Flexibilität der Module. Durch den modularen Aufbau konnte die Anlage in nur 50 Tagen konstruiert werden.

 

Auf der diesjährigen K in Düsseldorf zeigt HEKUMAs modulares Baukonzept HEKUflex seine Flexibilität.

Die Entnahme der Bürsten wird gewohnt schnell in unter einer Sekunde im Entnahme-Modul durchgeführt. Dabei muss höchste Präzision und Sorgfalt erfolgen, da weder Produkt noch Werkzeug viel Fläche freigeben. Die Greiffläche, d.h. die Fläche des Produktes die der Greifer berühren kann, ist lediglich 10x10 Millimeter klein. Verständlich, misst die Bürste gerade mal 40 x 10 x 3 Millimeter. Um eine Beschädigung des Produkts in jedem Fall zu vermeiden, werden die Bürsten via Vakuum im Greifer gehalten. Nach der Entnahme fährt der Greifer zu einer Shuttle-Platte und legt dort alle Teile in dafür ausgelegte Bohrungen ab. Jeder fünfzigste Schuss wird nach links zum Kameramodul gefahren, alle anderen Schüsse gelangen direkt zur Verpackung.

 

In dem diesjährigen Exponat wird Integration groß geschrieben.

Gleich in zwei von drei Modulen sind Fremdsysteme eingebunden. Im linken Modul, dem Kameramodul, wird eine „Rund-um-Kameraprüfung“ zusammen mit STÄUBLI gezeigt. Der STÄUBLI TX 40 hält das Produkt vor die Kamera und dreht es dabei. Insgesamt werden 5 Aufnahmen gemacht und analysiert. Die Kamera übernimmt dabei die Aufgabe der Produktionsüberwachung. Weicht eine Interdental-Bürste von der Norm ab, wird eine Meldung abgegeben. Auslegung und Software stammen vom HEKUMA eigenem Kamera-Entwicklungsteam. Neben der Länge und Geradheit des Mittelstegs, ist die Erfassung und Vermessung der feinen Borsten die Herausforderung. Die Prüfzeit beträgt hierfür pro Teil 30 Sekunden.

Während die Stichprobe geprüft wird, werden weiterhin Teile entnommen und in einen Trichter fallen gelassen. Über ein Förderband, werden jeweils 2 Schuss gesammelt und in einen Beutel verpackt. Für die Verpackung übernimmt der F280VD Sonder von PACKMAT die Verantwortung. Sind die Beutel befüllt werden sie verschweißt, ein Euroloch ausgestanzt und innerhalb der Automation auf ein Band fallengelassen. Das Band befördert die Beutel in eine Kiste. Die platzsparende Position der Gutteilkiste ermöglicht eine manuelle Entnahme im laufenden Betrieb, ohne Gefährdung oder Produktionsstillstand.

Hier können Sie die Pressemitteilung als PDF herunterladen.